Summer in the city

2 Jun

The sun is shining! I can smell BBQs and newly cut grass! But alas as I have yet to find my millionaire husband (I’m here waiting boys) I will be spending most of the summer months in the confines of the office.

Getting your summer work wardrobe right is an art, one needs to be careful not to wear anything too synthetic (potential sweat issues) but also not too short (I am not on the beach). Therefore I have the best three items on the high street that will get me looking and feeling cool all summer long.

White shirt

A cotton white shirt is a summer staple as it looks fresh, pretty but still smart enough for work. To me, Gap rules the high street when it comes to basic tailoring and I am particularly taken with this boyfriend-style shirt. I quite like wearing a looser style unbuttoned to a low V as it helps break up my more ample assets! http://www.gap.co.uk/browse/product.do?cid=57359&vid=1&pid=000890013001

clear cn4320954

 

 

Actually Gap has some really lovely pastel numbers too. I quite like this lilac gingham shirt that I would pair with white trousers. Just don’t match your eyeshadow to the colour, I don’t believe in bringing that 90s look back! http://www.gap.co.uk/browse/product.do?cid=57359&vid=1&pid=000452400000

cn6246724

 

Maxi skirt

Ms. Bethan is queen of the maxi skirt and she always looks fab when she pairs a bright colour with a white t-shirt and leather jacket. I really want one too as they look lovely and floaty, but can still be smartened up with a a white shirt. New Look has a great selection and these two are just £15 each:

281370577

 

273710148

Smart dress

Finding a smart summer dress for meetings is always a dilemma, especially if you don’t want to be spending over £50 on something for work. Dorothy Perkins is definitely winning it for me this summer.

My favourite dress  find is this coral shirt dress from Apricot which is only £25. The nude belt will also go with the nude patent shoes I have bought from M&S (see Get me to the church on time post).

http://www.dorothyperkins.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?beginIndex=21&viewAllFlag=&catalogId=33053&storeId=12552&productId=9830674&langId=-1&sort_field=Relevance&categoryId=228004&parent_categoryId=226988&pageSize=20

 

 

75100420_2_large

I also like this pattern dress. Sometimes white look a little bridal so this subtle floral print makes it a bit more funky but is smart enough with a blazer for meetings.

01000194_2_large

 

Anyway enough about work – it’s Sunday and sunny, I’m off to a BBQ!

Love,

Kate x

 

 

 

One Response to “Summer in the city”

  1. MasonBentley June 2, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    It has been a gorgeous day! Enjoy your bbq xxx

Leave a Reply

