My capsule wardrobe

14 Oct

I’ve always been a firm believer that more is more when it comes to my wardrobe – I like it chock-full of plenty of things I can pick choose from, and sometimes, I must confess, I buy things I only wear a few times before getting bored of them.

But, this month’s Glamour has inspired me to change my ways…

images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On page 258, the mag has challenged new style columnist Ashley Madekwe to create 30 outfits from just 10 items.

The variety she comes up is fab, and I love the fact all these great items of clothing are really earning their keep.

So, I’ve decided to take on the challenge myself (especially helpful as I have a four-day trip to Rome coming up next month, and only hand-luggage to take, eek!).

All I have to do is pick 10 items (not including shoes, I’m no miracle worker!) that will all co-ordinate. Ashley recommends picking a palette of colours that all work together, and sticking to classic shapes and fabric, such as denim and leather.

So here goes…

1. I’m kicking things off with Topshop’s Baxter skinny jeans in black, £40

jeans

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We all know jeans are the perfect basic. When you’re having one of those days when you just don’t know what to wear, jeans are a safe bet. I went for black because I think this will work with the rest of the palette I’ve chosen (black, blue and beige), and I’m definitely more of a skinny jeans girl than any other style. These’ll be great for day or night.

2.  This stone-coloured skater skirt from New Look, for £14.99

284381715

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love skater skirts – fab with ankle boots and a sweater, and I think this is a great, neutral piece.

3. Time for a statement piece! River Island’s paisley trousers, £30

643285_rollover

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love these trousers so much, and they make dressing so easy, Just add a plain top and you’ve got an outfit that really says something, without even having to try!

4. Blazer from Zara, £49.99

7546238800_6_1_1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is pretty self-explanatory – what doesn’t a well-cut black blazer go with? I’m definitely more of a blazer girl than a bomber jacket girl. I like the classic shape, and the fact it smartens up pretty much anything. This one’s a winner!

5. Every capsule needs some cashmere. I love this, £59.90, Uniqlo

cashmere

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What I like the most is that, while it’s a classic shape, it’s not a boring pastel colour like cashmere can often be. And I think it’d go perfectly with all the bottoms I’ve picked.

6. Chambray Shirt, £29.95, Gap

cn6764393

clear

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This colour is basically a neutral, and is smart enough for the office, yet casual for the weekend with jeans and Converse.

7. Bow blouse, £34.99, Mango at Asos

image1xxl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How much do I love this blouse? Lots! Fancy something a bit girlier than the chambray shirt? This is the solution. I think it’d look great under the blazer and the jumper, and I love the idea of it tucked into the skater skirt – almost like co-ords. So cute!

8. Shift dress, Warehouse at Asos, £50

image1xxl (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Great colour, great shape, wear it with the blazer and heels for a night out, or with flats and the Chambray shirt worn open over it for a casual day.

9. Black camisole, £16, Miss Selfridge

15C31LBLK_large

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my opinion, Miss Selfridge has some of the best camis out there, and this will work well with all of the bottoms, and underneath and of the tops. Perfect when you want something chic, not shouty.

10. This is a little bit of cheat as I’ve told you about it before, but I still love it, and it goes with this particular colour palette, so I’m including it as my final showstopper piece. Jumpsuit, £45, Asos

image1xxl (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perfect with the blazer!

So there you have it, my 10-piece capsule collection.

My favourite outfit combos? I love the printed trousers with chambray shirt and blazer, the skater skirt and bow blouse, and the jeans with the cashmere jumper (though I also quite fancy throwing the jumper over the jumpsuit).

To finish the looks, I think all you need is three pairs of shoes: ankle boots, pointy courts and Converse, along with some gold hoop earrings and a statement necklace.

Voila! Dressing in 10 easy steps! Now I never need to visit Primark again. But of course I will!

Bethan x

 

Leave a Reply

