A rumble in the jumble

26 Apr

Today I took myself off to Bethnal Green to take part in the third Rumble in the Jumble event. It’s a charity jumble sale organised by Gemma Cairney from Radio 1, along with several of her celebrity pals. All proceeds go to Oxfam, so there’s the first reason to get on board – shopping for a good cause.

Reading about the event beforehand, it sounded pretty exciting – lots of clothes donated by celebrities available, as well as brand new stuff from brands like Topshop and Warehouse, at jumble prices. All you need to do to have a chance of getting your hands on this stuff is pay £3 to enter, and take along a bag of jumble.

It started at noon, and I was aiming to get there early. I figured all the good stuff would be gone in the first 10 minutes. However, I was a few minutes late, arriving about 12.15 and finding myself at the back of a bit of a big queue. Clearly this is a popular event. It was weirdly heart-warming seeing all these people with their bags of jumble. Even if we’re all in it for the bargains, at least a little thought goes into it too. And it probably initiated a good wardrobe clear-out for some.

Anyway, I assumed that, once inside, all the celeb and designer stuff would be kept in one, small area, with higher pricetags, and the rest of the jumble would take up the rest of the room.

Not the case – all the celeb-worn clothes are mixed in with the other stuff, and nothing I saw was an unreasonable price. I laid my hands on Fearne Cotton’s dress (a reasonable £20, if only I could fit in it!), Jessie Ware’s Office shoes (in my size, but the heels were sooo high!), Gemma Cairney’s Vivienne Westwood top and Gizzi Erskine’s dresses. I also paid a visit to Caroline Flack’s stall – she was getting stuck in and selling stuff like a complete non-diva. And looking amazing, too.

I thought there wouldn’t be much new stuff, but I reckon about half of what I saw had original tags on. If you’re a Whistles fan, you’d have been in heaven – as long as you’re a size 10. There was loads of amazing brand-new Whistles stuff, but I was a bit sad none of it was likely to fit me!

So the big question is… what did I buy?

I got some bargains – mainly in the shoe department…

WP_000966

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I bought…

WP_000967

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These brand new, never-been-worn Swedish Hasbeens boots, for £20

 

WP_000968

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carvela loafers. I think they’ve been worn, but they’re in fab condition, and there’s no other chance I’m going to get Kurt Geiger for a fiver!

WP_000969

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Asos slingbacks, £10

 

WP_000970

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Urban Outfitters brogues for a fiver

WP_000972

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This brand new River Island pencil skirt for a fiver.

Plus I got a great, new white shirt from French Connection and a sweater from Asos.

I took £50 expecting to struggle to find anything, but I blew through my money in about half an hour! If payday was a bit closer, I might’ve dashed out to the cashpoint to get more – and I can guarantee I’d have bought more.

I went on my own this year, but next year I’m definitely going to recruit a group of friends. There’s loads going on besides clothes, including a bar, cake stall, hot food, and makeovers from Smashbox and Bumble and Bumble, among other things. I think next year, the plan will be to arrive early, do one circuit of the stalls, then get some refreshments and go back for more. Definitely need more than £50 next time, too!

A really fun event – and what a good cause!

Bethan x

One Response to “A rumble in the jumble”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rumble in the jumble 2015 + a print extravaganza | girlsonthehighstreet - May 10, 2015

    […] jumble sale event and had a brilliant time. (And if you didn’t read that entry, you can click here for […]

Leave a Reply

