Happy 100th post!

17 May

Today marks a momentous occasion in the life of Girls on the High Street – it’s my 100th blog post. It’s taken over a year to get here, but here we are – thanks to everyone who’s been reading this whole time!

I’ve been wondering how best to celebrate this moment, and I’ve decided on this:

The Girls on the High Street Awards 

Marking everything I think’s damn good about the high street, internet shopping, and being part of this blog. So here goes…

Best high street store

It has to be Zara. In the past few months I’ve noticed a dramatic reduction in the amount of Primark in my wardrobe (shock!), as it’s been edged out by this new favourite. I visit the website most days, covet pretty much everything, and I’m not scared off by the prices. Go Zara! And just to illustrate my point, feast your eyes…

Most loved online shop

Rarely a weekend goes by when my doorbell doesn’t ring with a delivery from Asos. Where were we before it existed. A straw poll at work yesterday revealed Asos to be one of the most used shopping destinations in the office. The range is diverse, delivery is free – and fast, and I rarely need to return an item. I can’t get enough. In fact, the writing of this blog was interrupted about 10 minutes ago for the delivery of these items…

image1xxl (1) image1xxl

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Best newcomer

My new friends at Eclectic Eccentricity for their fab jewellery and loveliness on Twitter.

Item of the season

It might be a bit excessive, but I can reveal that, in the past week, I’ve bought three new pairs of slip-on sandals (the silver ones above are one example!). Clearly I have an addiction and must stop now. But I can rest assured that my feet will be both comfortable and stylish all summer!

Most worn item in my wardrobe

My ripped boyfriend jeans from Asos (surprise, surprise!). Dressed up, dressed down, they’re always a comfy, cool choice.

Surprising discovery

Crop tops. Unbelieveable, I know, but I recently bought this top from Mango, and I’ve already worn it twice in a week – almost unheard of from me. The shape is really flattering, it feels lovely to wear, and was a bargain!

image1xxl (2)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most loyal blog reader/follower

Thanks again to Kate of Mason Bentley Style for reading, liking, and commenting on pretty much everything I write, and for some great advice to a new, very small blogging enterprise!

Best photography

Shout out to Jennie Filer for the beautiful Girls on the High Street shoot she did (almost a year ago now, time flies – we need to book in another one!)

Most prolific Facebook liker

Goes to Alex Walsh – and next week I shall get my Girls on the High Street hands on her when I take her shopping. She won’t know what’s hit her!

And finally, the ‘one day I wish for’ award…

6a00e3933abee08834011570440b4d970c-400wi

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yeah, I’d do that too, Alexa!

Bethan x

One Response to “Happy 100th post!”

  1. Maison Bentley Style May 18, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    Congrats to you! x

Leave a Reply

