Super skincare

3 Jan

As I mentioned in my previous post about New Year’s resolutions, I’ve been taking advice from Sali Hughes’ great new book Pretty Honest and changing up my skincare regime.

IMG_0931

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t want to give away all her top tips because, really, you should go out and buy the book yourselves, but the gist of her skincare advice is this:

1. Identify your real skin type. You might think yours is dry, but it might actually be dehydrated. Sali spells it out. Mine’s oily to combination (good news is that means it ages slower, bad news is that make-up slides off and the dreaded shine is pretty common).

2. Ditch the soapy/foamy cleansers and DEFINITELY ditch the face wipes. Soaps or foams can tend to strip the skin, while face wipes just move the dirt around. Instead, invest in a cream, balm or oil cleanser, which will really lift off all your make-up and the grime from a day spent commuting and sitting in an office. It goes without saying to choose a cleanser to match your skin type.

3. Serums are the skincare holy grail. Not just for anti-ageing, these are the little miracle potions that treat your skin’s particular concerns. I’ve chosen a pore minimising one, but there are hydrating ones, line-filling ones, brightening ones. In contrast, you don’t need to spend a fortune on moisturiser – just pick one that suits your skin and that has an SPF.

And there you have it (though check out Sali’s book for way more in-depth and expert detail).

Here are the new products I’ve invested in. Some are brand new, so I can’t really tell you how well they work in the long run, but I’ll tell you what I’ve discovered so far.

Step one: Cleanse with Bliss Clog Dissolving Cleansing Milk and Clinique Sonic System Cleansing Brush.

IMG_0933

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve only been using the cleanser for a day, but I like how it smells (fresh and fruity) and how it feels. It doesn’t leave my skin feeling stripped of moisture, but it gets all the make-up off and makes my skin feel really clean, so job done. Let’s see if it keeps my skin clear… One note: I can’t use it on my eyes as it makes them really sting. There’s no advice on the bottle about whether or not it’s suitable for eyes, but mine are quite sensitive. As for the cleansing brush? Imagine using a giant electric toothbrush on your face! It’s nice and soft and does feel like it gives a deep cleanse. I like it.

Step two: Clarify (like a liquid exfoliator) with Clinique Clarifying Lotion. I’m using Number 2 at the moment as I already had a bottle of it, but I think I’ll try Number 3 in future as that’s better suited to my skin type.

IMG_0934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love this! It makes my skin feel so fresh and clean. There’s a satisfying zingy feeling, which makes me think it’s definitely doing something.

Step three: Treat with No 7 Beautiful Skin Pore Minimising Serum

IMG_0935

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A new product for me – stay tuned for a review. Feels lovely and it’s a great size bottle, too. If you get one of those £5 off No 7 vouchers in Boots, this is only £11, which is great value as serums can be super expensive.

Step four: Moisturise with Olay Essentials Complete Care (with SPF 15) for day, and with L’Occitane Divine Oil and a touch of Philosophy Time in a Bottle eye cream for night.

IMG_0936

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Olay’s new to me, but I’ve been using the L’Occitane for a few weeks. It smells so beautiful and makes my skin look really glowy the following morning. I’ve been really lazy with eye creams in the past, and often can’t be bothered with them, but I was given this Philosophy one, so I’ll keep you posted on whether I think it’s worth it.

Step five: Treat any pesky spots with a dab of The Body Shop Tea Tree Oil

IMG_0937

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A classic spot treatment. Nothing makes the pesky little blighters disappear instantly, but this dries them up nicely, without any nasty chemicals.

Step six: Once a week, apply a face mask as a nice relaxing treat. I’m going to mix it up between Yes To Tomatoes Clearing Facial Mask for Combination Skin, Korres Wild Rose and Sisley Black Rose Cream Mask.

IMG_0932

 

 

 

 

 

 

I haven’t tried the Yes To Tomatoes yet, but I love the brand and the packaging. I’ll use this on bad skin weeks when some patches are dry and some oily. Review to come. The Korres is great when my skin needs a refresh at the end of a long week. It tingles a bit when you apply it, but then just feels nice and soothing and it makes my skin look a bit more radiant and smoother. The Sisley is great for deep moisturisation. It’s super pricey (I was given it as a gift, I don’t think I’d shell out the over-£90 price myself), but lovely and soothing. I never bother washing it off, I just use it as a deep moisturiser.

Wow, when did I become so high maintenance?! There’s something strangely satisfying about feeling like I’m really taking care of my skin though. Let’s see if all this hard work pays off. Stay tuned…

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

