New skincare regime: reviews

3 Feb

I’ve been following my new skincare regime for about a month now, so I thought it was about time to update you with the results. First up is the cleanser: Bliss Clog Dissolving Cleansing Milk and Clinique Sonic System Cleansing Brush.

IMG_0933

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m really enjoying using these. The cleanser seems to agree with my skin. I can’t exactly say it’s made it totally clear, but it feels really clean and I seem to be having fewer breakouts. The creamy texture feels nice and moisturising and using it with the cleansing brush adds exfoliation. I also like the fruity smell. The only downside is that I can’t use it on my eyes as it makes them sting, so I’m having to use a separate eye-make-up remover. I’m using a micellar water at the moment, but I used to use The Body Shop’s Camomile Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover, which I loved, so I think I’m going to go back to that. It never irritated my sensitive eyes, so it’s a winner!

97954m_l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The cleansing brush has two parts: green and white. The green bristles are firmer, so are meant for the T-zone, white the softer white bristles are gentler on the cheeks. I really like this, it feels like it’s really doing its job.

Next up is Clinique Clarifying Lotion. I’m not having any trouble from this, my skin seems to love the deep-cleanse it delivers, it removes any last traces of make-up and, well, it’s just a great product. Buy it!

IMG_0934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As for No 7’s Beautiful Skin Pore Minimising Serum, well, it’s great value and it makes my skin feel nice and soft, but it’s not really doing anything about my pores.

IMG_0935

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I realise there aren’t many products that are capable of shrinking pores, but I think there might be something out there with more active ingredients that I can feel/see working a bit more. This is going to be one of those situations where I need to invest a bit more money in a great product. This is on my wish list…

9MTF_311x311

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s Estee Lauder’s Idealist Pore Minimising Skin Refresher. It’s over £40, so it’s definitely an investment, but perhaps as a payday treat?!

I’m using Olay Essentials Complete Care (with SPF 15) as my day moisturiser. I love it – the old classic brands are sometimes the best! It has that lovely fresh, traditional moisturiser smell, it’s not greasy and it makes my skin feel comfortable. My make-up doesn’t slide off after I use it, and it’s a bargain. All boxes ticked!

IMG_0936

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At night, I’ve been trying Philosophy Time in a Bottle eye cream, but I’m not sure it’s doing it for me. Others have said they can see an immediate effect, but I can’t, and I’ve even had a couple of white spots around that area. I think my eyes need something even lighter as they’re super-sensitive and can’t take muchmmoisturisation in that area. Maybe this?

vichy-aqualia-thermal-eye-roll-on

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Vichy Aqualia Thermal Eye Roll-on is not a budget buster at only £12, so that’s good, and it claims to hydrate and tackle dark circles, which might be all my eyes need. I’m not sure I’m ready for intensive lifting creams yet.

So there you have it, I’m on my way to finding the right skincare regime for me. Next up, the search for the perfect foundation! Stay tuned!

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

