The best shops for basics

21 Feb

We all have particular clothes shops we turn to for certain things. If you’re looking for new T-shirts and jumpers, there might be one place you go to for those. Need amazing leather boots? You probably have a place in mind. So I thought I’d share some of my ever-faithfuls…

For work trousers, I go to Reiss. They’re great for well-cut basics in classic colours like black and navy, as well as printed styles and pastels for the summer. I bought my first pair of navy Reiss trousers a couple of seasons ago. I’ve got a lot of clothes in my wardrobe (probably not a shocking revelation!), but I find myself wearing these at least once a week because they’re comfortable, look smart, and go with everything. My most recent addition was this Londra style in the sale for £49…

264013-20-3

Trousers, Reiss

So while you might consider Reiss at the more expensive end of the high-street scale, when it comes to the sales, you can get some real bargain basics that will actually last.

Next up, T-shirts. For me, you can’t beat Gap’s cotton-mix crew-neck T-shirts. They come in a range of colours, wash really well, don’t cling, and are a good length. And under £10! They’re the kind of things you’ll wear all summer, then under jumpers all winter, then you can replace them with a fresh batch the following summer for very little expense. Unbeatable.

cn9162867

T-shirt, £9.95, Gap

For jeans, my favourite brand is MiH Jeans. Yes, a full-price pair will set you back over £150, but there’s no way you need to pay that (unless you want to). There are lots of styles on The Outnet right now. I’m quite taken with this Phoebe style…

509038_fr_xl

Jeans, £64, MiH at The Outnet

Under half price – bargain! But my top tip is to look for MiH Jeans on eBay. That’s where I bought both of my pairs, the Paris cropped skinny style and the Marrakesh flares (VERY ss15!). They were in perfect condition, and I got them for about £30 a pair – about a fifth of the full cost. What I love about these jeans is how comfy they are. The denim is so soft they can feel like leggings and the variety of styles, colours and materials means there’s something for everyone.

Believe it or not, my favourite shop for leather shoes and boots is Clarks. Not something I’d have believed a couple of years ago, but Clarks have seriously upped their game trend-wise. Special mention goes to their boots. Recent purchases have included tan knee-highs, purple suede desert boots and navy Orla Kiely flats…

26104206_B_p IMG_1052 IMG_1126

The best thing about them, apart from the quality, is the fact I know I’ll keep these shoes for years. Oh, and the comfort factor – something Clarks can always be relied upon for.

And finally, for jewellery, I could splash out on the entire Z for Accessorize collection. I already have several rings and necklaces, but currently on my wish list are this layered necklace and chain ring…

9013461319710 9029159354398

Necklace, £25, and ring, £15, Z for Accessorize

So there you have it, my five faithful brands that never let me down. What are yours?

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

