A whole lot of new beauty treats

28 Feb

There really is nothing nicer than new beauty products is there? I’ve had a bit of a influx of them this week – lucky me! – so I thought I’d share my new additions…

IMG_1158

First up, I’m so excited about the Jo Malone perfume. It’s called Osmanthus Blossom and smells so pretty, fresh and floral. I was given this as a gift and I love it. I’ve decided to take it to my new job on Monday and have it as my ‘work perfume’. With a bottle that pretty, it deserves to sit out on a desk where people see it, rather than hiding on my dressing table at home.

I’ve been going a bit mad for skin treatments, too – there are four in the picture! I read about the Vichy Normaderm range and decided I needed to try it, so I have versions for day and night. So far I’m liking them a lot – I do think they’re really useful for controlling breakouts and have made my skin feel more balanced. I’ve also been given a Kiehl’s pore refining treatment (always a fan of anything that claims to tighten my pores!) and an Avene hydrating serum, which will be nice for those dehydrated days. I haven’t tried these two yet, but I’ll let you know my verdict when I do.

The quest for the perfect foundation continues, and I decided to go back to Clinique, which I first used about 10 years ago. I’d read that the Superbalanced foundation was good for combination skin, which is useful for me, as I tend to end up with dry cheeks and a shiny forehead, and that it’s good at hiding pores (back to those pores again). The lovely lady on the Clinique counter in Westfield Stratford tested a few colours on me and, as I predicted, the lightest one in the range (Alabaster) was the right colour for me. Sometimes I find even the lightest foundations are too orange on my skin, so I’m pleased this colour seems to be the perfect match, and I really like the finish. I added a loose powder to my basket too, and I really like the combination of these products together. I used to be much more of a pressed powder girl, but now I prefer the lighter result I get from loose powder. It seems to end up looking less cloggy and my face doesn’t feel weighed down by make-up. And I was very happy to be given this new contour set also from Clinique. I’ve just been using it like a bronzer, swirling all three shades together, but I think you can also use the colours separately to do a proper contour look.

The blue products to the right of the picture are my new cleansing duo. I used every last drop of my previous Bliss cleanser – Clog Dissolving Cleansing Milk, and I’d definitely buy it again. But, for now, I was given this new Magic Makeup Melt, also by Bliss, so I thought it was worth giving it a try as I know I like the brand. It starts off as a gel, which you massage into your face until it turns to an oil. It smells lovely, and makes my face feel really clean. I’ve only used it twice, so I haven’t fully formed a verdict, but I will asap. I bought the La Roche-Posay micro-exfoliator as a replacement for my Clinique clarifying lotion, simply because it was a cheaper alternative that sounded like it’d do the same job. I can confirm it seems to be equally effective, so a good budget swap, though you get slightly less of a ‘zingy’ clean feeling than with the Clinique. I have no complaints though, it finishes off my cleansing routine nicely and lifts off any remaining dirt.

Finally, a couple of little indulgences I was given as presents – Darphin face cream and Sanctuary body scrub. I haven’t used them yet, but how pretty is the Darphin packaging? I’m a sucker for anything in a glass jar – it just feels like quality, doesn’t it. It’s one of those moisturisers you want to have on display. I’ll report back when I’ve tried it.

So there you have it – a whole lot of beauty booty!

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

