Sample sale shoe purchases

27 Mar

I’ve had a brilliant couple of days getting stuck in at London’s sample sales, and I’m the proud new owner of three amazing pairs of designer shoes, eeek!

Yesterday lunchtime, I headed down to Penelope Chilvers’ store on Duke Street, Mayfair, for the end of season clearance. The sale had been going on for a few hours, so it was nice and calm by this point, though I think I probably also missed some of the best gems from earlier on in the day. However, I picked up a new pair of ‘Dandy’ slippers in corduroy – very school-uniform chic, and therefore very ss15!

IMG_1231 IMG_1232

I also bought some gorgeous leather sandals, which I can’t wait to wear. They’re super-soft and I hope I’ll have them for years to come.

IMG_1233 IMG_1234

These shoes were just £30 each – bargain!

Obviously, being in the store, I couldn’t resist a look at the latest, full-price collection. I LOVE these neon safari boots…

020901090006_144_Z1

£239, Penelope Chilvers

However, this was just a sale-shopping mission, so I’ll save my pennies for the boots another day.

Then, today, I had the day off work, so I set my alarm early and headed to the Connaught hotel for the Charlotte Olympia sample sale. I almost didn’t go because I think a lot of her heels, while beautiful, are simply too high for me! But then I thought, it’s a work day, so maybe it won’t be as busy as a weekend.

Boy was I wrong! I arrived on the dot of the 10am start time – along with the rest of the women in London! People with VIP invites were allowed into the sale an hour earlier, so I could see them coming out with their purchases, and I knew I’d have to wait it out to get myself a piece of the action. So I joined the queue. And queued. And queued. For an hour. The security guards in the hotel found it hilarious that this bunch of mad women was willing to spend this amount of time waiting to get into a tiny room filled with shoes. But did we care? No!

I was keen to get my hands on some flats – Charlotte Olympia’s flats are just gorgeous. The holy grail is, of course, the iconic ‘Kitty’ flats, but I had a feeling these would all be gone by the time I got in. I thought I’d be lucky just to find any flats in my size. When I got in the room, it looked like I was right, until I hit upon three pairs of cute ballet flats in a variety of cute patterns – and they fit me, woohoo!

Then I clocked the size of the queue to pay. Oh boy! So I thought it best to stop hunting for more shoes and join the queue. While I was in the queue, I acquired another two pairs of shoes – one embroidered heels, one flatform sandals. So now I had five pairs in my hands. It was time to do an edit. I whittled it down to one pair of flats and the heels. Now it was just a case of waiting to get to the tills.

But then it happened.

As I was right at the front of the queue, another lady actually crawled under one of the tables and found a stash of the dreamed-of ‘Kitty’ flats, which she started passing to her friend. And I could see they were in my size! I couldn’t leave the queue to look under the table myself (nor did I particularly want to be on all fours!), so I had to watch in agony as the friend tried on two pairs of the shoes I wanted. Argh.

But then…

She discarded them as they were too small for her! Another girl was in there quicker than me with one of the pairs, but I got my hands on the second one. With that, I ditched my other pairs and danced off to the till with just the ‘Kitty’ flats – exactly what I went to the sale for, and what I thought I’d never find. Thank you shoe gods. And here they are…

IMG_1229 IMG_1230

It’s been a purr-fect couple of days (sorry not sorry!)

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

