AW15: all about the details

1 Aug

I was leafing through Tatler this morning, flicking past the many (many many) adverts at the front of the magazine when I thought maybe I should stop and look back at those adverts. They’re a great early indication of the trends we’re all set to be coveting over the coming months, and a welcome change from the dregs of the summer stuff that’s still lingering in the shops (please now, I am sick of sales. I’m ready for shiny new ranges. Thank you).

I noticed a bit of a trend among the big brands – little details. The shapes, colours and patterns are nothing too outrageous, but each look has a very deliberate detail about it, which is carried across several new-season pieces, and gives them that touch of luxury and ‘recognisability’.

Dior is all about the bejwelled collar…

download

While at Gucci, it’s fur trim on wrists and inside shoes…

12-full

gucci-aw15-campaign2

Chanel’s adding brooches to knitwear, on necklines and waistlines…

Chanel-AW15-21 ChanelLindseyWixson

And finally, Miu Miu has added amazing big buckles to its shoes (Fashion fairy godmother, if you’re listening, I think I’m going to NEED these shoes!)

5c7dae0b27ea78dfe0bdfd00540a8d2d

cool-chic-style-fashion-miumiu-pfw-fashionweek (4)

cool-chic-style-fashion-miumiu-pfw-fashionweek (6) (1)

Lots of this isn’t available to buy yet (and will cost several hundreds – or thousands – when it is). But that doesn’t mean I won’t be trying to recreate the look from the high street.

For the Chanel look, I’m loving the brooch on a chunky polo neck or cowl neck. I love this knit from River Island…

673411_back

£38, River Island. It looks much more expensive than it is, and will go with anything. As for the brooch, I think the best bet is to go vintage or look on eBay to get something individual. I’ll be heading to Bang Bang Clothing Exchange.

Asos has blinged up the collar on this T-shirt, a la Dior…

image1xxl

And at £17.50, it’s about one-hundredth of the price of actual Dior!

I also like this shirt from Miss Selfridge…

34W05RBLU_large

It’s £15 and only in the petites range.

I’ve spotted a Gucci-esque faux fur trim on these Asos sandals…

image1xxl (1)

They’re £25, and a great way to try out an autumn/winter trend while it’s still summer.

This Sister Jane dress also has something of the Gucci about it…

image1xxl (2)

£45.50. It’s so kitsch. And I love it.

And as for those beautiful Miu Miu shoes… The replicas haven’t started rolling in yet (as far as my intense googling can find). But if there’s one thing the high street can be replied upon for, it’s making great copies of the key designer pieces, so I have faith something will materialise.

Come on, Asos, don’t let me down!

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

