The best Sixties miniskirts

5 Sep

I’m usually more of a fan of skirts that fall somewhere between the knee and the ankle, but I find myself hankering after a cute Sixties-style miniskirt at the moment. It’s the Carven aw15 look I’m after…

Carven-RF15-0008

I think it’s something about the sugary pastel shade (I always love a pastel) that’s drawn me in. It also helps that, as summer seems to be officially over (I’m writing this during yet another downpour), you can now bring your black opaques out of hibernation to wear with miniskirts, making those of us who are less leg-confident feel a little safer.

What could be chicer than a little wool A-line mini with a black cashmere polo neck, black tights and little black Chelsea boots (see here and here for the polo neck and boots I’ll be wearing this winter)?

But while Carven’s minis won’t give you much change from £300, the high street has plenty of pretty offerings. And considering this is probably a one season trend – we’ll all be back in maxis come May – I don’t think it’s worth spending a fortune here.

Here are my top five high-street picks…

675159_rollover

£30, River Island (this has featured in a couple of fashion mags and, as a result, seems to be selling out fast. Act now if you want it!)

30K15HROS_3_large

£45, Topshop (only in Tall or Petite). Topshop also has lots of great suede minis if you prefer a Seventies style look.

image4xxl

£28, Asos

5512416_2

£38, Oasis

5643292051_2_4_1

£12.99, Zara (bargain! And perfect for those who find candy colours a little too sugary).

There you have it. Backcomb your beehive and you’re set for the Sixites!

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

