Jumpers and jeans

5 Dec

At this time of year, my wardrobe can pretty much be divided into two categories: dressed-up stuff for Christmas parties, and cosy casual stuff the rest of the time. So I thought I’d write a post about the best kind of casual combination, and one that pretty much all of us like to fall back on: jumpers and jeans.

The options are endless, as is the celebrity inspiration. Here are a few of my favourite looks…

‘Mom’ jeans and a cropped Aran knit.

a16a92056eaaa0f1af597d535d746f81

I love this look on Bella Hadid. I haven’t yet got myself a pair of high-waisted, straight-legged ‘Mom’ jeans, but I think it’s about time I did.

Levi’s new ‘Wedgie’ style jeans look pretty special – and a bit like Bella’s…

228610001-front-pdp

£95, Levi’s

And Topshop’s ‘Mom’ jeans do what they say on the tin…

02M11HBLC_4_large.jpg

£40, Topshop

For the jumper, I bought this roll-neck in H&M a couple of weeks ago, and I think it’s a pretty good match for Bella’s. I also find that the slightly cropped length makes it more flattering, as a chunky knit can verge on bulky territory, but this doesn’t swamp…

hmprod (1)

£29.99, H&M

And finally, a doppelganger for Bella’s Aquazzuras, try these…

9014926180382

£75, Office

But this is a casualwear post, so I’d definitely prefer the flat version…

42F24IBLK_2_large

Bonus? They’re reduced to £14 in Topshop.

The second jean I’m focusing on is the classic black skinny and, as far as I’m concerned, there is no better inspiration than Rosie Huntingdon-Whiteley. Just look at her many ways with black skinnies…

There’s an easy formula to copy here (though looking like Rosie cannot be guaranteed).

Take great black skinnies. I think Asos has a great selection of styles in a really true black wash. These are the ‘Lisbon’…

image1xxl.jpg

£25, Asos

Or bust the budget an invest in my favourite denim brand, MiH. I haven’t tried these ‘Bodycon’ ones yet, but I’m yet to meet an MiH jean that I don’t like…

141215_mih_day03_03_0137v2.jpg

£195, MiH Jeans

To emphasise the leg-lengthening effect of these jeans, Rosie always adds a black boot, whether it’s ankle or OTK. And they always have at least a little heel. These pairs are both from New Look…

357510001D2

£44.99, New Look

359095701D1

£22.99, New Look

Jumpers are fine knit, oversized and in earthy colours. I can see Rosie in either of these Mango numbers…

£34.99 each, Mango

And finally, top it all off with a fedora from Boohoo…

dzz95997_black_xl

£18, Boohoo.com

And finally, for those super slouchy days, I present Alessandra Ambrosio in ripped boyfriends and a stripy knit.

3369006_5712f4e_m.jpeg

Zara’s ripped boyfriends are a dead ringer…

6164158427_2_1_1.jpg

£29.99, Zara

Red and black jumpers are, for some reason, really hard to track down! So I’ll have to settle for classic black and white, like this Daisy Street number…

image1xxl (1).jpg

£22.99, Asos

Then all you need is a cool printed scarf to finish the look (because you don’t need me to tell you where to buy flat black ankle boots – we all have those in our wardrobes!). Oliver Bonas is my go-to for scarves…

1015577_oliver-bonas_accessories_pebble-spot-scarf

£16, Oliver Bonas

Hope you’re keeping cosy in your jeans and jumpers!

Bethan x

 

 

Leave a Reply

