The best of 2015 fashion

30 Dec

With just one more full day of 2015 remaining, I thought this would be a nice chance to look back at some of my favourite trends that I’ve blogged about over the past year.

These are the pieces that I’ve been loving, with a few suggestions for new ways to style them up for 2016…

In October, I featured these sparkly shoes from Boden.

15waut_ar712_pew

The glitter version have all sold out, but these chic black ones are new, and reduced from £89 to £62.30.

15WAUT_AR712_BLK

I think I’d go for the full Audrey Hepburn look with these – slim black trousers, a black roll neck and a swingy black ponytail. What could be classier? Or step into January with a splash, by teaming them with trusty black opaques and a loud, proud fuchsia swing dress

image4xxl.jpg

This is reduced to just £10 at Asos.

Not feeling the girlie vibe? Swap the black roll neck I mentioned above for a sporty tee

image3xxl

£22, Adidas at Asos. The monochrome palette and slim-fit shape mean this is a safe option for the sports-luxe-shy (aka me).

In September, I became obsessed with pompom shoes, and in particular this pair, which are now sold out…

image1xxl1

Thankfully, Topshop still has a few pairs of this very similar style left, which are in the sale for £15…

42F26IBRG_large

For 2016, I’d embrace the geek chic popularised by Gucci and style them up with a pleated midi skirt, tank top and roll neck. You couldn’t fail to feel cheerful on your first day back at work dressed like that!

Topshop’s grey/silver skirt will add just enough sparkle to a grey January day…

27H02IGYM_large

And at £30, it won’t hurt that post-Christmas bank balance.

In May, I went crazy for ghillie shoes – along with the rest of the world. I bought this blue pair from Asos…

image1xxl

They’re now long gone, but there are millions of other pairs (or so it seems!) still for the taking. And on a practical note, I didn’t think these would be the comfiest of shoes, but they actually are. I did a day-long shopping trip in these the very first time I wore them and I was blister free.

For a 2016 take, I like this chic, minimalist pair, which are reduced to £39 in the Asos sale…

image1xxl (1)

I think they’d make the perfect trans-seasonal outfit with this grey jumper dress from Whistles, which is down to £85 in the sale…

whistles-all-needle-knit-dress-pale-grey_03

I was up for all-denim-everything in April, with this Zara midi skirt leading the pack…

7354044400_1_1_1.jpg

I’m so pleased that denim’s still going strong for 2016, and I’ve currently got my eye on this pinafore from Asos…

image1xxl (2).jpg

Looks just like my favourite skirt in dress form! I’ll wear it for work with a pussybow blouse and ankle boots, then at the weekend with a ribbed knit and trainers.

And finally, back in January, a whole year ago, I was mad for suede in all its forms, but particularly jackets. This red number from Mango was at the top of my wishlist…

43073505_77

But, for 2016, I think I might be swayed by the simple shape and attention grabbing colour of this cobalt version, down to £54.99 in the sale.

53023557_53

Whereas I’d wear the red one with a dreamy boho dress from Zara, I think this blue one needs strong shapes and clean lines. So a white t-shirt and these striped wide leg trousers from Asos, which are now just £24, should do the trick…

image1xxl (3).jpg

I wonder what style choices 2016 will bring? Happy new year!

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

