Pick up a pinny

6 Mar

I’m having a major back to school moment (sartorially, anyway), because I’m finding myself drawn to all things pinafore. Back in the day, aged five, I love a grey pinny with a white polo shirt and a red cardigan and, frankly, I think I’d happily sport that combo again right now…

download

Pinafore, £11, New Look. Bargain alert! I also like the styling here with the roll neck. Perfect if it’s still a bit chilly before you bring in…

C8494_WT0002

A natty little polo shirt. This one’s Lacoste for J Crew and is £49. It’s a summer classic, so I think the little splurge is justified, but you can find much cheaper versions from Asos, Uniqlo and the like.

Finish the look with a red cardie…

13_151955

This Uniqlo cashmere one is reduced to £59.90. And there you have your modern day school pinafore look. I’d steer clear of patent T-bar shoes – that might be a step too far – and add black tights and ankle boots for now, then white Stan Smiths or Converse and bare legs in the summer. Even better? All of these pieces are versatile enough to work with umpteen other things in your wardrobe.

Got the taste for pinafores? Here are some others I’m loving…

image1xxl (4)

£38, Asos. Is it strictly a pinny or is it a dungaree dress? I don’t know, but it must be mine! Anything frilly is top of my wish list right now.

10C08JNAV_large

£38, Topshop. Wear with a roll-neck or silk blouse by day, then go it alone with heels for a gorgeous evening dress. Also – great price for Topshop!

2270539802_1_1_1

£25.99, Zara. Grown-up colour, plunge neckline and textured finish. A very cool option from Zara, naturally. Love it dressed down with the trainers.

Are you going back to school?

Bethan x

 

Leave a Reply

