Ready for spring!

13 Mar

What a beautiful weekend it’s been in London! Sun shining, blue skies, a bunch of tulips on my coffee table… I even went out without a coat yesterday and today (I was wearing a bodywarmer, but still – no sleeves! Didn’t freeze!).

All of this inevitably means my thoughts are turning to my spring wardrobe. But I’m determined not to get ahead of myself this year. I’m not rushing out to buy summer dresses, sleeveless shirts and shorts. Let’s not kid ourselves – it might never get that warm!

What I am thinking of is a few little ways to tweak my winter wardrobe into something that makes the most of the ever so slightly warmer weather.

First up, it’s nearly time to ditch the winter coat for something a little lighter. I’ve decided I need to invest in a classic trench coat this year. Here’s some inspo from Pinterest…

I don’t want to spend a fortune, as I’ll only wear it for a couple of months before it’s no-coat weather. But I want a classic style that I’ll bring out later this year and for years to come.

hmprod

This wrapover style is a very reasonable £39.99 from H&M.

download

I also like the buttons on this bargainous £29.99 double-breasted style from New Look.

Once the coat is sorted, I’ll be swapping my cashmere scarf for something lighter and sunnier…

afebf852b9a0091ad8be6d4905e5bfa7

(Pinterest)

Accessorize has some lovely pure silk scarves in pretty designs…

This lovely lot start at just £12 for a skinny scarf, £25 for a square scarf.

Spring definitely isn’t time to cast aside the jeans and trousers, but it does mean one thing… Bare ankles! I’ve loved my jazzy sparkly socks this winter, but I am excited to cast them aside and get back to bare feet. There are just certain shoes that don’t work with socks or black tights. And to celebrate, it only seems right to treat myself to some lovely new flats to keep my bare ankles company (never mind all those flats I have that are already happy to do the job – there’s always room for more).

I was in Clarks yesterday and I loved so many of the new spring styles in there. It was super busy, too – I think Clarks is having a major resurgence in popularity. Here are a few styles I’m coveting…

26115643_A_p

These new Trigenics, £65, are hugely popular and look so comfortable. Some of the other styles in this range have looked a little ‘utility’ for me (I’m a sucker for a girlie shoe), but I’m loving the light colour and open style of these. I can practically feel the cushiony comfort calling me.

26113083_A_p

While we’re talking comfort, these chic Sillian Fern slip-ons, £45, are from a range called Cloud Steppers. Say no more.

26114672_A_p

These Taylor Spring shoes, £50, are super smart. So perfect with skinny jeans and one of the trench coats above.

26115183_A_p.jpg

Finally, Clarks has gone big on silver shoes this season, like these Damara Rose brogues, £65. Ever the magpie, these are calling to me. And, according to the online reviews, they’re heaven to wear.

Last on my list of handy hints for transitioning into spring is culottes worn with ankle boots. So there’s no need to give up your favourite winter boots yet. Just reveal a little calf to let in a little breeze. More inspo from Pinterest…

I love the raw hem on these culottes…

image1xxl

£28 from Fashion Union

And these striped numbers will also look great with white trainers…

image1xxl (1)

£25, Asos

Boohoo is genius for budget printed styles…

Some pairs cost as little as £4 – perfect for trying a tricky trend.

So there you have it. Let’s step boldly into spring (with bare ankles!)

Bethan x

 

Leave a Reply

