Sensible summer dresses

26 Mar

Sensible dresses. Two words that probably couldn’t sound less sexy if they tried. But they’re exactly what I’m coveting for spring/summer.

By sensible dresses, I’m referring to midi length or longer, and often in shirt or wrap styles and breezy fabrics. The kind of dress you can throw on with any summery shoes (or trainers) and not worry about whether your legs look OK, or whether it’s too tight/too see-through etc. See, sounds pretty covetable when I put it like that, right.

H&M is coming up trumps in this category at the moment. Here are a few I’m loving…

hmprod (3)

£24.99

hmprod

£24.99

hmprod (1)

£39.99. This pretty dress has almost sold out online (it’s only available in a 6), but it’s definitely still available in a range of sizes in stores. I know this because I bought it! It’s a beaut. In fact, I’d highly recommend a trip to an H&M store near you, because there are a few things in store that don’t seem to be online (I also bought a really nice pinafore dress that I can’t see on the website).

This lovely linen dress from Warehouse is also currently waiting patiently in my Asos saved items until I can pluck up the courage to splash out £55 on it…

image1xxl

Well worth it, though, don’t you think? This is the kind of easy breezy number I want to wear with Ancient Greek Sandals all summer long.

And, as always, the Asos own label has just the thing…

image1xxl (1)

Another linen mix dress (looks like linen is my fabric of the season), I love the wrapover style and lapels on this. It’s £40, though there’s usually some kind of offer going on with Asos – they’ve currently got £10 off if you spend £75. So, what’s a girl to do? Oh, I know, buy two dresses!

And finally, confirming my linen-as-fabric-of-season theory, I’m quite taken with this Zara number…

2512624712_2_3_1

£39.99. I love the stripes, particularly the fact they’re a little more muted than some of the striped offerings I’ve seen in Zara this season, which have been a tad too shouty for my liking.

Got space in your wardrobe for one more? Oh OK then, this one’s too pretty not to share…

2349143074_1_1_1

£39.99, also from Zara.

Will you be joining the sensible summer dresses brigade?

Bethan x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

