Colour me beautiful

17 Apr

On a spring weekend that’s been so chilly I’ve resorted to putting the heating back on and retrieving my winter coat from the cupboard, I think adding a little cheer to your wardrobe is pretty much a necessity.

So I’ve been enjoying browsing online for lots of happy, colourful clothes to take the edge off the slightly disappointing climes. We all have our favourite colours and combinations (hello, 80% navy wardrobe), but I’m going to try and make my next few purchases a little sunnier, in the hope it can inspire Mr Sun to put his hat on, too.

Here are some colour combos I’m loving…

1. Ice-cream pastels

image1xxl (1)

£38, Asos. This gorgeously girlie number is good enough to eat! I’ve been eyeing it up for weeks, and I think I might need to make it mine.

I’d pair it with these cute little pumps…

download

£7.99, New Look (bargain! Maybe buy all three colours!)

And, because this is England, best to top if off with a cardi…

50_164409

This one’s £24.90 from Uniqlo. I bloomin’ love their knitwear. This is 100% cotton, comes in a range of colours, washes really well, and is just generally a great thing for spring.

I’m pretty obsessed with this pastel outfit – would you be daring enough to wear pastels top to toe?

2. Yellow and blue

5719251

This zingy number from Oasis, £50, is the perfect way to wear colour if you’re a bit scared. Yes, it’s loud, but it’s a chic, simple and flattering shape. You could tone it right down and wear it with opaque tights and a black or cream blazer, but in the spirit of this post, I’m going for primary colour perfection…

9055279579166

These loafers are £62 from Office and I think they’re pretty spectacular. Worn with the yellow dress they’re a beachy, sunny dream, but they’ll also be perfect with skinny jeans and a simple Breton top for those days when you’re feeling a little less ‘look at me’.

3. Teal and orange

This slightly unusual colour comco is inspired by this image, taken from the Rock My Wedding blog, and shot by Marianne Chua…

Marianne-Chua-nina-dave-submission-14-1000x666

Just how great do these colours look together?

And, brilliantly, M&S has gone and made a dress in some pretty damn similar colours…

SD_01_T69_0373L_XT_X_EC_90

It’s £39.50, and a serious mood lifter on a dull day. I’d play up the orange and wear it with these…

image1xxl

£14, Asos.

4. Hot pink

image3xxl.jpg

I couldn’t resist the opportunity to showcase this brilliant blouse from Asos, £32. The perfect remedy to any dull day, this is just so fun and pretty.

It’s jazzy enough to wear with any staples – jeans, black work trousers, white linen trousers, a denim skirt, but I think pink and khaki are a great and underrated colour match.

hmprod

These are just £14.99 from H&M, and come in a whole load of other colours if you’re feeling adventurous.

So there are my hot tips for spring/summer colour, even if the sky remains decidedly grey. How will you wear yours?

Bethan x

Leave a Reply

